Junior Badminton Finals

November 22, 2018

By Rashi Agarwal

The BWF World Junior Championships (also known as the World Junior Badminton Championships) is a tournament organized by the Badminton World Federation (BWF) to crown the best junior badminton players (under-19) in the world. The championships are held annually and consists of two separate competitions: a mixed team championship (Suhandinata Cup) followed by individual championships (Eye Level Cups).

India’s top junior shuttler Lakshya Sen settled for a bronze medal at the Li Ning BWF World Junior Badminton Championships 2018 at Markham, Canada after losing in the boys’ singles semi-final on November 18, 2018. Lakshya Sen was up against the top seed and world junior number one Kunlavut Vitidsarn of Thailand and could not overcome the huge challenge 22-20, 16-21, 13-21 and bowed out with a bronze. This was India’s fifth boys singles bronze medal at the BWF World Junior Championships and the only medal India got at this year’s Championships.

Saina Nehwal remains India’s sole gold medallist at the BWF World Junior Championships, which she got in 2008 in the Pune edition. She also won a silver two years before that in girls’ singles.

Malaysia are on the brink of a double glory at the World Junior Championships after shuttlers Goh Jin Wei and Toh Ee Wei-Pearly Tan Koong Le stormed into the girls’ singles and doubles finals respectively.

Share this :

Comments are closed.